USA Trip 2009

After being annoyed about myself almost not to have visited anything while living in Ithaca, NY in 2007, I decided to get back to the task this year. This page is divided into parts as follows: First, there is an introduction (you're reading it right now), second, there is a map of the preliminary route (thx 2 Google Maps), and third, there will be travel reports once the trip is started.

We (a team of 5 persons) will be travelling through the west of the US between August 14th and September 15th using at least a 25ft motorhome. As you can see, our route passes many national parks – so there is hope that we present some nice photos. As stated before, the most beautiful will be put on this page regularly.

News

Just click on a news headline or the link “Read more” to get more information and regarding picture galleries.

2011-01-08: USA Trip 2009: The 135 best of more than 3000 Pictures

2011-01-08: Grand Canyon and Monument Valley

2009-09-28: Panorama Pictures of USA Trip 2009 rendered

2009-09-15: West Coast around San Francisco

2009-09-06: Yosemite

2009-09-04: Death Valley and the long way to Yosemite

2009-09-04: Las Vegas

2009-09-01: Bryce Canyon and Hoover Dam

2009-08-29: Yellowstone National Park

2009-08-25: Arches

2009-08-20: Desert and Water

2009-08-18: Good Morning, Banning

2009-08-18: Arrival and Motorhome

2009-08-15: On the Flight

2009-08-11: USA Trip 2009

Route (preliminary)

The route may tape some time to load (which is up to Google, not me ;-) ) – but in return, it is kind of interactive. All in all, the route is about 3.000 miles long, which is pretty easy to manage in 4 weaks of motorhome driving. However, I think there will be lots of miles driven spontaneously.


Enlarge map

In general, we want to start in Los Angeles and drive a big curve through the inner of the contry, finally reaching San Francisco. Once the route has finished loading, click on the single waypoints to get more information.

USA-Trip 2009

Nachdem ich mich nach meinem knappen halben Jahr an der Cornell University in Ithaca, NY im Jahre 2007 sehr geärgert habe, kaum etwas von den USA gesehen zu haben, und ohnehin die letzten 5 Jahre so gut wie keinen Urlaub hatte, wird das jetzt alles auf einmal nachgeholt! Diese Seite ist wie folgt gegliedert: Zunächst gibt es eine Einleitung, danach eine vorläufige Route (Google Maps sei dank) und anschließend einen Abschnitt „Neuigkeiten“ – in diesem werden, wann immer ich Internet habe, kleine Reiseberichte und Fotos erscheinen.

Wir (das ist ein Reiseteam von 5 Personen) sind also vom 14. August bis 15. September 2009 in einem Wohnmobil unterwegs durch einen guten Teil des Westens und mittleren Westens der USA! Wie man sieht, führt die Route über viele Nationalparks, wo sicher auch schöne Bilder bei rumkommen. Die schönsten werde ich, wie schon gesagt, natürlich versuchen, regelmäßig hier online zu stellen.

Neuigkeiten

Klicken Sie auf einen Nachrichtentitel oder den Link „Weiter lesen“, um mehr zu erfahren und die zugehörige Bildergalerie zu sehen. Unten stehen ältere Artikel, oben neuere.

2009-12-13: USA-Trip 2009: Die 135 besten aus mehr als 3000 Bildern

2009-09-28: Panoramabilder vom USA-Trip 2009 gerendert

2009-09-15: Die Westküste um San Francisco

2009-09-06: Yosemite

2009-09-04: Death Valley und der lange Weg nach Yosemite

2009-09-02: Las Vegas

2009-09-01: Bryce Canyon und Hoover Dam

2009-08-29: Yellowstone National Park

2009-08-25: Arches

2009-08-23: Grand Canyon und Monument Valley

2009-08-20: Wüste und Wasser

2009-08-18: Good Morning at Banning

2009-08-18: Angekommen und Wohnmobil

2009-08-11: USA-Trip 2009

Grobe, vorläufige Route

Die Route kann etwas Ladezeit benötigen, was an Google liegt, nicht an mir ;-) – dafür kann interaktiv darin herumgeklickt werden. Insgesamt handelt es ich um etwas über 3000 Meilen. Das ist für 4 Wochen sehr locker, aber es kommen sicherlich noch etliche Spontanmeilen hinzu.


Größere Kartenansicht

Prinzipiell wollen wir in Los Angeles starten und einen riesigen Bogen durchs Landesinnere beschreiben, bevor wir in San Francisco ankommen. Sobald die Route fertig geladen ist, kann man unsere einzelnen geplanten Stationen anklicken, und so nähere Informationen erhalten :-)